InstagramAsset 1logo-3

Heather Wishart-Smith Named a Finalist for Autodesk Innovator of the Year Award

Award recognizes practitioners for driving digital transformation to reimagine the design and construction practice

Jacobs is pleased to share that Heather Wishart-Smith, Jacobs Senior Vice President of Technology and Innovation, has been nominated as an “Innovator of the Year” as part of Autodesk’s AEC Excellence Awards 2020. The annual award recognizes leaders in the AEC industry who are adopting emerging technology to build smarter and better, and we could not be prouder to count Heather among this group of inspiring leaders.

According to Autodesk, “2020 brings an outstanding group of contenders for Innovator of the Year. For the third year, this category recognizes AEC practitioners driving digital transformation to reimagine the design and construction practice. These innovators are leading the industry toward the future of making by creating new workflows, leveraging data to find value, and informing regional protocols.”

On October 20, Autodesk, along with their co-sponsors Society for Marketing Professional Services and industry publication Informed Infrastructure, will officially name the 2020 Innovator of the Year.

When asked about leading innovation at Jacobs Heather responded, “As we continue to evolve into a company like no other, solving our clients’ most difficult challenges, we are strengthening our innovation culture. Innovation doesn’t happen by corporate mandate, it happens when people at every level have the courage and feel empowered to reframe the problem, challenge the status quo and try something new.”

Heather’s spirit of innovation has earned her many honors, including being named the 2020 President of the Society of American Military Engineers; the SAME Gerald C. Brown Mentoring Award winner for 2018; and a 2016 Eno Center for Transportation “Top 10 Women to Watch in Transportation”. 

Jacobs extends congratulations to all the 2020 Innovator of the Year award nominees. See the complete list of finalists and projects, click here.

Article options
Share Story